Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me

TOPIC: Looking for work!

Looking for work! 8 years 3 months ago #2642

• Miss_Jen
Where should I start?? I'm a uni student without a degree in need of work. Can anyone help me out? Any websites or leads would be helpful :)
The administrator has disabled public write access.

Re:Looking for work! 8 years 3 months ago #2643

• agent_lou
  • Gold
  • Thank you received: 1
Hi Jen - the way i understand it (correct me if i am wrong) is that Thai's keep their jobs for their own people. Therefore the only jobs westerners can really get is - teaching.

im not 100% sure if it is illegal to work in teaching without a degree. I know fake degrees are frowned upon and some people have ended up banged up because of it.

google ajarn job space - teaching jobs on there.

I dunno if you may be able to get other jobs...

Re:Looking for work! 8 years 3 months ago #2647

• Yzma
Pretty sure you can work in Thailand without a degree and even teach but if you are in Bangkok then it' s likely employers will expect you to have one . It' s common knowledge that schools can pay off Thai government departments to get work permits for their non- degreed foreign teachers .

Maybe the OP could search for teaching assistant work? Less likely that she'll need qualifications for short term gigs such as summer school work .

Have you got any Thai friends and/or family or friends of friends you could ask?

OFC, there' s always telemarketing and time-share selling . I hear the boys who were run out of Thailand a few years back for illegal boiler room activities are back here again but are more low-key . :blink: Hell, even 7-Eleven might have some openings . ;)

The OP might be better setting up on her own , like doing an internet business (eBay anybody ? :) )

Re:Looking for work! 8 years 3 months ago #2649

• agent_lou
  • Gold
Ebay could be a good idea, buy in bulk from thailand (cheap) to sell on western ebay (expensive) lol